"Phoenix, Oregon" Film Screening at Volcanic

Wed, Jun 26 at 7pm

This event has passed.

 

Defying the haze of midlife, two friends seize an unlikely opportunity to reinvent their lives, quitting their jobs to restore a bowling alley and serve the “world’s greatest pizza.”  

Divorced bartender Bobby Hoffman (James LeGros), living alone in the Airstream trailer inherited from his late mother, has drifted into a sleepy eddy.   Life passing him by and struggling to complete his graphic-novel opus, Bobby comes to believe his life is doomed – just a meaningless simulation written by some alien civilization. On Bobby’s birthday, when his old high school buddy Carlos (Jesse Borrego) tries to shake him awake with a bold new business venture, shadows rear up from the past and threaten to crush him.  

Does positive thinking still work at mid-life?  Can teamwork and friendship improve the odds for success of “the stupidest idea ever”?  Irresistible Tanya (Lisa Edelstein) stirs Bobby’s bravery until his passion and dreams begin to breathe again.  Passionate Carlos (“you aren’t visualizing it!”) and his spirited, entrepreneurial family will not give up. Finally, when Bobby’s comically awful boss, Kyle, (Diedrich Bader) has shrunk his piece of the pie to crust, playing it safe just doesn’t feel safe anymore.  

The road out of hiding and becoming a business owner, though at times exhilarating, isn’t easy.  Snarky bowling rival, Al, (Kevin Corrigan) pins him around every corner, while slick venture capitalist, Mario, (Reynaldo Gallegos), captures Tanya’s eye and hopelessly intimidates Bobby with his worldly charm.  When trouble and setbacks rear up, Bobby must decide whether he owns his life, or is merely a chump for his comic book aliens’ entertainment. Finally, it’s his choice


Volcanic Theatre Pub

70 SW Century Drive
Bend, OR 97702

Share This Event

Related Shows

Wed, Dec 11 at 9pm

Moon Hooch w/ Human Ottoman At Volcanic

Thu, Dec 12 at 8pm

Marco Benevento w/ The Mattson 2 at Volcanic

Fri, Dec 13 at 9pm

Charlie Parr w/ Dead Horses at Volcanic

Sat, Dec 14 at 9pm

Cascade Crescendo W/ Skillethead at Volcanic

Fri, Dec 20 at 9pm

Greyhounds w/ Caitlin Sherman at Volcanic

Sat, Dec 21 at 9pm

True Loves at Volcanic

Wed, Jan 22, 2020 at 9pm

CYCLES at Volcanic

Sat, Jan 25, 2020 at 8pm

The Mother Hips w/ The Coffis Brothers at Volcanic

Tue, Feb 4, 2020 at 9pm

City Of The Sun w/ Kiltro at Volcanic

Thu, Feb 20, 2020 at 9pm

The Movement w/ Josh Heinrichs & Indubious at Volcanic

Fri, Feb 21, 2020 at 9pm

Trout Steak Revival At Volcanic

Sun, Mar 8, 2020 at 8pm

Ballroom Thieves w/ Special Guests at Volcanic

Sat, Mar 14, 2020 at 8pm

Avi Kaplan "I'll Get By" Tour at Volcanic

Fri, Mar 27, 2020 at 9pm

SPAFFORD V.I.P. PACKAGE

Fri, Apr 17, 2020 at 9pm

The Beths at Volcanic